Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012 and Ginger Molasses Cookies

As you may or may not know, during The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap, you send cookies to three random food bloggers, and receive cookies from three random food bloggers. Fun, right?

I didn’t think that this year’s cookie swap could top last year’s, and I hate to make it seem like I’m playing favorites, but I am. This year’s batch was both creative and delicious, and appealed to two of my addictions: chipotle and toffee. How can you top that? I’m sorry, you can’t.

My cookies, packed and ready to go

My cookies, packed and ready to go

I sent Ginger Molasses Cookies to Madeline of Munching in the Mitten, Kasha of The FarmGirl Cooks, and Alissa of Sweet Tea and Sunshine. I hope you ladies enjoyed!

Ginger Molasses Cookies
Adapted from AllRecipes

  • 2.25 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup butter, unsalted, room temperature
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 tbsp white sugar, for rolling
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer (if possible), cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg, then stir in water and molasses.
  3. Slowly begin to add the dry ingredients. Continue to add and mix a little at a time until all the dry mixture has been added into the wet mixture.
  4. Optional: Refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes. I found this made it easier to handle and shape.
  5. Shape dough into heaping tablespoon sized balls. Roll them so the edges are neat. Roll each ball around in the extra sugar to coat. Place on ungreased cookie sheet, and lightly flatten.
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes and allow to cool for a few minutes extra on the cookie sheet before moving to wire rack to cool completely. Enjoy!

Now onto the cookies I received…

I must first apologize for not taking better photos of the cookies themselves. I’m borrowing photos from the bloggers who sent them (and let’s be real – their cameras are better than mine anyway).

First, I received Pretzel M&M, Butterscotch, and White Chocolate cookies from AmyBites. These were loaded with goodies! One minute you’re devouring a salty, crunchy pretzel M&M, and the next you’re hit with intense sweetness from the white chocolate, which then gets balanced out by the smoothness of the butterscotch. Perfect combination Amy!

cookies1

Photo Credit: AmyBites

Second, I received Mexican Chocolate Chip Cookies from Sweet Betweens. These were a harmonious balance between sweet and salty – a light dusting of kosher salt topped the cookie, while the inner layers revealed chocolate chips and a hint of chipotle pepper.

salted-mexican-chocolate-chip-sweet-betweens-04

Photo Credit: Sweet Betweens

Finally, I received Toffee Chocolate Chip Oatmeal cookies from Melissa of I Was Born to Cook. These went the fastest of all the cookies, which is admittedly why there are no photos of the cookies. I devoured too many at once, then Andrew did, and before I realized I had forgotten to take a picture they were gone! These cookies were crunchy from the toffee that had melted and retaken its shape. I think I’m biased because I have an unhealthy addiction to toffee, but these ones were the winners for me this year. Thanks Melissa!

Photo Credit: I Was Born to Cook

Photo Credit: I Was Born to Cook

4 thoughts on “Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012 and Ginger Molasses Cookies

  1. Pingback: Strawberry-Thyme Shortbreads Dipped in White Chocolate & Walnuts for The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap! | Sweet Tea and Sunshine

  2. Pingback: The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012 Recipe Roundup Part 2 | the little kitchen

Leave a Reply

